Skip to content

What’s in a name?

February 1, 2016

I made a decision the other week and it solved a daily minor irritation. I decided never to answer the question….So where do you come from Doc? I now reply that I never answer the question because I never ask my patients that very question.

I never ask it because very rarely does it have any bearing on clinical presentation (Unless there is a hereditary angle I am trying to explore) and frankly it is none of my business and feel that it is equally none of my patients’ business where I come from. As far as I am concerned I speak the Queen’s English uphold the ethics of the administration of Health Care and go to great lengths to achieve an acceptable ethical outcome. Where I come from is my personal information and as far as I am concerned if respecting patient’s privacy is important, patients need to respect the privacy of the clinician!

Phew………Feels good to get this one off my chest!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

